Karolína Plíšková smashes umpire’s chair after second round upset


Czech former world number one woman tennis player Karolína Plíšková is likely to face a fine after a temper tantrum when she exited the second round of the Italian Open in Rome.

At the end of her 6:3, 3:6, 5:7 loss to Greece’s Maria Sakkari, Plíšková went to the net and instead of shaking hands smashed her racket at the umpire’s chair three times, leaving a visible hole.

The sixth seed had a number of clashes with the umpire during the match but she appeared particular incensed when a smash was called out during a crucial point of the final set.