European Commission to warn 10 accession countries not all requirements met


The Reuters news agency has reported that the European Commission, the executive body of the European Union, will warn all 10 countries joining next May, they have not yet met entry requirements in dozens of areas, though the EU will still press ahead with enlargement. According to Reuters the Commission said it will publish its final progress reports next Wednesday. Acceding countries, including the Czech Republic, are expected to receive letters demanding immediate and decisive action in response to concerns in 39 different sectors. The Czech Republic, though, is expected to receive warnings in just 3 areas, covering the state of food processing, the application of EU regulations in road transport, and the approval of a law mutually recognising university degrees. A fourth point dealing with the law on public tenders has been made moot by a bill passed in the Czech Lower House on Thursday.